First result of PS-114 by-election released, PPP in lead

First result of PS-114 by-election released, PPP in lead |

KARACHI – The first unofficial, unconfirmed results from 6 polling stations has been released.

According to states available to, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) candidate, Saeed Ghani is leading with 2145.

MQM-Pakistan’s Kamran Saeto is trailing with 675 votes in their bag. While Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate is third in the race with 501 votes.

Ruling party in the federation has failed to make an impact as PML-N’s candidate is fourth and last in the race with 466 votes.

Meanwhile, Jamaat-e-Islami Karachi Amir Hafiz Naeemur Rehman has called the by-election a ‘fraud’, alleging that the PPP has been using state machinery to manipulate the results in the party’s favour. Separately, workers of the PPP and PML-N came face to face and shouted slogans in favour of their respective parties in Mehmoodabad.

The seat fell vacant after the election of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) leader Irfanullah Marwat was declared void. In May 2013 general elections, Marwat had won the elections but his victory was declared void by the election tribunal in July 2014. On May 11, the Supreme Court dismissed Marwat’s appeal challenging the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) decision, paving the way for the by-polls.

As many as 27 candidates, including Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Senator Saeed Ghani, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Muhammad Najeeb Haroon and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) – Pakistan’s Kamran Tessori are contesting the by-elections.

Separate polling booths have been set up for men and women. More than 1,200 security personnel have been deployed in the constituency as part of strict security measures.


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel