ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Fakhar out after maiden hundred

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Fakhar out after maiden hundred | pakistantribe.com

OVAL – Pakistan’s swashbuckling opener Fakhar Zaman has been dismissed after scoring his maiden hundred in the big final against arch-rival India in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, at the Oval.

Fakhar reached to his blistering hundred in just 90 balls, he scored 114 runs off just 106 balls.

His heroic inning was studded with 3 huge sixes and 12 classical boundaries.

He has been phenomenal in this tournament so far. He got a debut match after out-of-form Shahzad was dropped. Since then he has scored 2 match-winning fifties and a blistering hundred in the big final which shows his temperament, class, and character.

Pakistan and India have both reached the final in opposite manner. Pakistan has clawed its way into the final whereas India has easily made it to the final.

The green shirts lost its opening game to India by a whooping 124 runs under the Duckworth-lewis (D/L) method. However, the team made a turnaround and managed to win every single match onwards.

They beat South Africa by 19 runs under the D/L method and defeated Sri Lanka by three wickets to qualify for the semi-finals.

Pakistan knocked out hosts England by beating them in the semi-final by eight wickets.

India, on the other hand, started their Champions trophy campaign in an emphatic fashion by Pakistan by 124 runs under the D/L method but suffered a seven-wicket loss to Sri Lanka. They beat South Africa by eight wickets.

The “Men-In-Blue” qualified for the final by beating Bangladesh by nine wickets in the semi-finals.

Pakistan (team): Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper and captain), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali and Junaid Khan.

India (team): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wicket keeper), Keedhar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravendra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel