Qatar nationals, residents banned from travel to UAE

Qatar nationals, residents banned from travel to UAE |

DUBAI – The United Arab Emirates has barred Qatar nationals and residents from traveling to or transiting through, the UAE, learned from Arab media.

According to Khaleej Times report, expatriates residing in Qatar and in possession of a Qatari residence visa shall not be eligible for visa on arrival in the UAE.

This ruling applies to all airlines flying into the UAE.

Five Key points about the Qatar diplomatic isolation

Following the US-Muslim Summit, back in May, Arab countries have shown their ‘true colors’ boycotting Iran at one hand and Qatar another.

  1. US President Donald Trump has claimed the credit for creating split in the Gulf countries. “During my recent trip to the Middle East, I stated that there can no longer be funding of Radical Ideology. Leaders pointed to Qatar – look!.” Trump tweeted on Tuesday.
  2. Bahrain was the first to announce it had severed ties with Qatar on June 5. It was followed by Saudi Arabia, UAE, and Egypt.
  3.  Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt have close all air, land and sea passage to Qatari vessels and vehicles.
  4.  Bahrain and Egypt ordered Qatari embassies and delegates to leave their countries within 48 hours of the announcement of the severing of ties.
  5. Though there was the panic of food shortage, Qatar will be able to survive the ordeal since it has a port which imports goods and also has $335bn in its sovereign wealth fund. Following the border closure, Iran has offered food shipments to Qatar.


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel