List of all 15 public holidays cancelled by UP government

List of all 15 public holidays cancelled by UP government

NEW DELHI –  The Uttar Pradesh government led by ultra-right Hindu leader Yogi Adityanath cancelled 15 public holidays in the province including Jamaat-Ul-Vida (The last Friday of Ramadan).

Holiday on  Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi, the birth anniversaries of eminent personalities including Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was also cancelled.

In a cabinet meeting chaired by CM Yogi Adityanath, the state cabinet was announced that instead, students in schools and colleges would now be taught about these famous personalities on these days.

Holiday for the Urs ceremony of Hazrat Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti Ajmeri (6 rajab- 14 April 2017) was also in the list.

According to PTI, Cabinet minister Shrikant Sharma said, “The cabinet has cancelled 15 public holidays marking the anniversaries of great personalities. Students will now be taught on these days about these figures through various programs,” Sharma was briefing the media after the cabinet meeting.

CM Adityanath had in his address on the occasion of Dr BR Ambedkar’s 126th birth anniversary here expressed concern over the shrinking academic session due to increased holidays. He said, “There should be no holidays in schools on birth anniversaries of great personalities. Instead, a special two- hour program should be held to teach students about them.

Sharma said the revised list of holidays will soon be made available.

List of 15 holidays cancelled by Yogi government

  1. Jananayak Karpuri Thakur Janam Divas- 24 January 2017
  2. Maharishi Kashyap and Maharaj Guha Jayanti-05 April 2017
  3. Cheti Chand-29 March 2017
  4. Hazarat Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti Ajmeri Garib Ka Urs 6 rajab- 14 April 2017
  5. Chandrashekhar Jayanti- 17 April 2017
  6. Parashuram Jayanti- 28 April 2017
  7. Lok Nayak Maharana Pratap Jayanti- 9 May 2017
  8. Jamaat-Ul-Vida (The last day of Ramzaan)-23 June 2017
  9. Viswakarma Puja-17 September 2017
  10. Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti- 21 September 2017
  11. Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti- 5 September 2017
  12. Chhath Puja-26 October 2017
  13. Sardar Vallabhai Patel and Acharyya Narendra Dev Jayanti- 31 October 2017
  14. Eid-e-miladunnavi-2 December 2017
  15. Chaudhry Charan Singh Jayanti- 23 December 2017

About the author

Web Desk

This is's news desk account.

1 Comment

Click here to post a comment


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel