Pakistan squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 |

LAHORE – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced its 15-men squad Tuesday for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which starts June this year in England.

Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the side in the mega event. former ODI skipper Azhar Ali has been recalled, whereas Umar Akmal also earned a call-up after his brother failed to impress selectors during West Indies ODI series.

Inzamam said the squad was selected keeping in mind English conditions.

“Ali is making a comeback in the team after looking at his good track record in English conditions, while Umar also returns after considerable improvement in his fitness,” said Inzamam.

Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the squad after replacing Ali as captain for the West Indies tour.

Pakistan will play arch-rivals and defending champions India in their first Group B match at Birmingham on June 4 followed by matches against South Africa (June 7 in Birmingham) and Sri Lanka (June 12 in Cardiff).

Group A comprises of hosts England, Australia, New Zealand and Bangladesh.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

The team will be led by Sarfraz Ahmed and include the following cricketers.

  • Azhar Ali
  • Babar Azam
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Ahmad Shahzad
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Muhammad Hafeez
  • Umar Akmal
  • Imad Wasim
  • Shahdab Khan
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Muhammad Amir
  • Hasan Ali
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Junaid Khan

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy will be held in England and Wales between June 1-18.  Bangladesh will be replacing West Indies in the tournament.

Pakistan will play their first match against India on June 4, followed by matches against South Africa and Sri Lanka on June 7 and 12.


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel