PSL Final: Peshawar Zalmi lift PSL 2017 Trophy

PSL Final: Peshawar Zalmi lift PSL 2017 Trophy |

LAHORE – Pumped up Peshawar Zalmi outclass clueless Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs to lift the HBL PSL 2017 trophy at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday.

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators skipper Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and sent Peshawar Zalmi to bat first. The decision was welcomed by Zalmi openers as they took a fast start.

When Zalmi were 42 in the fifth over, they lost Malan for 17. Samuels and Kamran Akmal took the score to 82 in the 1othe over, when the ball began to turn and grip, costing three quick wickets to Zalmi. Kamran (40), Samuels (19) and Khushdil Khan (1) got out in no time to bring Quetta back on top.

Two new batsmen, Hafeez and Iftikhar Ahmed were on the crease, and the ball was gripping and staying low. The run rate gradually decreased, boundaries dried up for Peshawar. The mounting pressure compelled Hafeez to play a rash shot and lose the wicket. Iftikhar (14) got out on the next ball, to add insult to the injury.

Sarfraz once again showed brilliant captaincy to keep Peshawar batsmen under pressure, and never let them play freely.

Some pinch hitting down the order by Zalmi skipper Sammy (29) helped his team to reach 148/6  in the first inning.

Quetta had bowled well, but they started drastically, losing 4 wickets inside the powerplay. No Gladiators batsmen except Anwer Ali (20), Sarfraz (22) and Ervine (24) could stand up to the task. Wickets kept tumbling at a regular pace and they finally got bundled out on 90.



Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel