Saeed Ajmal captured another unique record

Saeed Ajmal makes history as he captured another record  | PakistanTribeSHARJAH – Cool, humble and polite Saeed Ajmal has writes new history in his carrier during the match against Sri Lanka as he becomes the hisghest wickets taker from Pakistan side in a calendar year, PakistanTribe reported.

Earlier, Saqlain Mushtaq was the only bowler from Pakistani side with over 100 wickets in a calendar year.

Pakistani spinner Saeed Ajmal third time becomes part of most wicket takers club.

Saqlain Mushtaq, Waqar Younus, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar,  and Azhar Mehmood are the other members of the club from Pakistan’s side.

Waqar Yonus is the only bowler from Pakistani side who secured leading wicket taker in a calender year title 5 times during his career.

Saeed Ajmal is also a fastest to 100 wickets collector in his career from green shirts side. He achieved the milestone in his 19th match in 2012.

Saeed Ajmal is 3 wickets away to become one of the top 10 most wicket takers in a calendar year.

In 2011 Saeed Ajmal collected 89 while in 2012 he takes 95 wickets in a calendar year.

Here is the list of leading Wicket Takers in Each Calendar Year:

1996 Anil Kumble 90

1997 Saqlain Mushtaq 101

1998 Allan Donald 107

1999 Glenn McGrath 119

2000 Muttiah Muralitharan 109

2001 Muttiah Muralitharan 136

2002 Harbhajan Singh 102

2003 Makhaya Ntini 104

2004 Steve Harmison 93

2005 Glenn McGrath 104

2006 Muttiah Muralitharan 128

2007 Zaheer Khan 81

2008 Dale Steyn 90

2009 Mitchell Johnson 113

2010 Graeme Swann 111

2011 Saeed Ajmal 89

2012 Saeed Ajmal 95

2013 Saeed Ajaml 102

About the author

Shahid Abbasi

Shahid Abbasi is founder and editor of with 10 years experience in conventional media, he is one of the pioneers of new/digital media in Pakistan. He tweets @MShahid_Abbasi


Click here to post a comment


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel