World Cup 1992 History To Be Repeated With These 15 Players?

World Cup 1992 History To Be Repeated With These 15 Players? |

World Cup 1992 History To Be Repeated With These 15 Players? |

LAHORE – Pakistan on Wednesday announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, from February 14 to March 29.

The team was announced by Chief Selector Moin Khan who told reporters that this would be a special World Cup for him.

“After 23 years Pakistan will play the World Cup in Australia after it won the tournament there in 1992,” Khan said.

Pakistan who are in Pool B of the tournament will open their World Cup campaign against India on February 15 in Adelaide.


Pakistan have picked 30-year old fast bowler Sohail Khan in their 15-man squad for the 2015 World Cup. Sohail had played the last of his five ODIs in Zimbabwe in 2011, but took ten wickets in two of his most recent List A games, and was the highest wicket-taker in this season’s Quaid-e-Azam Gold League – 64 at an average of 22.

Apart from Sohail, the other World Cup inclusions not part of the squad for the series against New Zealand in December 2014 – Pakistan’s previous ODI assignment – are batsman Shoaib Maqsood, and fast bowlers Junaid Khan and Ehsan Adil. All three missed that series because of injuries but have now recovered.

The players who were part of the New Zealand series but excluded from the World Cup squad are: Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Nasir Jamshed, Sohail Tanvir and Zulfiqar Babar. Umar Gul and Bilawal Bhatti had been withdrawn from the New Zealand series because of injury and were also not included in the World Cup squad.

Chief selector Moin Khan deliberated on the squad with fellow selectors Wajahatullah Wasti, Muhammad Akram, Shoaib Muhammad, Ijaz Ahmed, Saleem Yousuf, head coach Waqar Younis, skipper Misbahul Haq, while Haroon Rasheed also took part in the discussion as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) coordinator.

Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz ahmed, Younis Khan, Harris Sohail, Misbah ul Haq, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz

Do you have information you wish to share with PakistanTribeCom? Email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share. Follow PakistanTribe on Twitter and Join us on Facebook


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel