Great W’s Waim Akram and Waqar Younis in Matthew Hayden’s World Cup greatest XI

Great W's Waim Akram and Waqar Younis in Matthew Hayden’s World Cup greatest XI |

Great W's Waim Akram and Waqar Younis in Matthew Hayden’s World Cup greatest XI |

SYDNEY – Former Australian opening batsman and World Cup winner Matthew Hayden has revealed his all-time ICC Cricket World Cup XI.

Former Australia batsman Matthew Hayden has picked Pakistan‘s Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis in his “All Time Cricket World Cup Greatest XI”.

His pick also includes four Australians Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Ricky Ponting, who is also the captain of the side.

Apart from Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, ODI cricket’s leading wicket-taker with 534 scalps, is the other spinner in the team, which has Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis,.

Little master Tendulkar and Sewag also picked by Hyden.

Pakistan‘s famed new-ball duo, to accompany McGrath in the seam bowling department. Gilchrist is Hayden’s wicketkeeper, while Sehwag is Gilchrist’s opening partner.

The rest of the batting wears a solid look, with Ponting, Tendulkar, Brian Lara and Jacques Kallis, four of 10 batsmen who belong to the 10,000-run club in ODIs, making up the top/middle order.

Kallis is the only all-rounder in the team. To engage with fans around the world ahead of the World Cup early next year, the ICC has launched an online campaign called “Your Greatest XI”, allowing the game’s lovers a unique chance to pick their best eleven from the previous 10 editions of the event.

While Hayden neglected to select himself in the side, he did select former teammates Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne.

Hayden selected the side to play on spinning pitches and therefore decided on both Warne and Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan.

However, deciding who would bat No. 11 between Murali and McGrath might be a challenge.

Hayden’s World Cup XI (in batting order): Adam Gilchrist, Virender Sehwag, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Jaques Kallis, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralitharan

Do you have information you wish to share with PakistanTribeCom? Email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share. Follow PakistanTribe on Twitter and Join us on Facebook


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel