Aleem Dar Selected in Elite Panel For World Cup 2015


DUBAI – Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar makes his spot in the elite Panel of International Cricket Council (ICC) Umpires for World Cup 2015.

The International Cricket Council today named four World Cup winners in a 25-member match officials’ team for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, which runs from 14 February to 29 March.

The team includes five officials from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, 12 umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and eight umpires from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires.

The match referees are: David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama.

The elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar, Billy Bowden, Bruce Oxenford, Ian Gould, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis.

The international panel umpires are: Johan Cloete, Simon Fry, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru, S.Ravi and Joel Wilson.

The eight umpires from the international panel have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level.

The World Cup winners in the line-up are Boon, Dharmasena, Mahanama and Reiffel. Boon was part of Allan Border’s side that triumphed in Kolkata in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1987 final, Dharmasena and Mahanama played in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 final in Lahore and Reiffel represented Australia at Lord’s in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999 final.

In addition to the four, Crowe represented New Zealand in the 1983 and 1987 ICC Cricket World Cups, Broad featured in three matches of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1987, Illingworth participated in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1992 in Melbourne as well as in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 and Madugalle played in three ICC Cricket World Cups – 1979, 1983 and 1987.

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

Do you have information you wish to share with PakistanTribeCom? Email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share. Follow PakistanTribe on Twitter and Join us on Facebook


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel