PML-N lawmaker Resigns from National Assembly After Joining Imran Khan


ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)’s lawmaker Aijaz Ahmed Chaudhry has resigned from his membership of National Assembly’s constituency NA-108 Mandi Bahauddin after joining hands with Imran Khan.

Aijaz Ahmed Chaudhry had handed over his resignation from NA-108 to Imran Khan in a meeting held between two on Saturday.

PakistanTribe reported earlier on Saturday that Aijaz Ahmed Chaudhry had decided to join Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaving his party affiliations with PML-N.

It is also pertinent to mention here that Aijaz Ahmed Chaudhry was elected from NA-108 Mandi Bahauddin as an independent candidate. However, interestingly he was an applicant for PML-N’s ticket for National Assembly’s constituency. PML-N preferred Mumtaz Tarar over Ijaz Chaudhry who suffered the defeat later. But eventually Ijaz joined PML-N once National Assembly came in session.

It was not made clear whether Aijaz Chaudhry going to resign from the National Assembly like all other lawmakers of PTI. However, the more apt question would be whether or not Ijaz’s membership will be terminated automatically after violating the party’s policy.

At least one constitutional expert Advocate Sara Jamal of Islamabad High Court told PakistanTribe‘s correspondent that “As Aijaz was elected as an independent candidate so this rule will not be applicable on him.”

Responding to the news, PML-N’s spokesperson and Federal Information Minister Pervaiz Rashid said “Aijaz Chaudhry was elected as an independent candidate. He also remained MNA of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q). If he wants to join hands with Imran Khan then no one can stop him.”


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel