PTI Unbags Favorite Names to Sit on Top of Election Commission

Shah Mehmood Qureshi Proposed Names of ECP Chief

ISLAMABAD – The Vice Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shah Mehmood Qureshi has favored the names of Justice Nasir Aslam Zahid and Justice Rana Bhagwan Das for the post of Chief Election Commissioner (ECP).

Qureshi was speaking to media persons on Friday after holding negotiations with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Syed Khurshid Shah over the name of CEC. He said “We do not accept the incredible Election Commission. We want over all changes in the body. Since, it can only start by appointing a credible CEC so we want to begin from here.”

“Election Commission defines the culture of free and fair elections. The post of CEC stands vacant so now it has to be filled and filled with a much of care,” he added.

Commenting over the proposed names for the post of CEC by PPP and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Qureshi stated, “Everyone is respectable. But we proposed the name of Justice Nasir Aslam Zahid. No one can put a finger on his credibility and respect. He holds an excellent academic career. He holds an independent mind. He would never give in his credibility for any prime minister whatsoever.”

He continued, “Few names proposed by the Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif are under question. They have political affiliations. It is our right to keep reservations.”

The leader of opposition Syed Khurshid Shah declared that PTI is still the part of parliament. “We believe that PTI is still part of parliament. That is why we come here for consultation over key appointment.”


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel