Look at the success of FIFA World Cup hosts



NEW YORK – Football World Cup 2014 is now 06 days away and excitement is getting hotter.

We have giving a daily dose of some interesting facts relating to the mega events, the present one and past ones. Here is the today’s daily dose”

To date, six of the 19 editions of the FIFA World Cup have been won by the host team.

After the first two (Uruguay 1930 and Italy 1934), the hosts had to wait 32 years before they could lift the Trophy again, with England the team to oblige in 1966.

Following two wins by the hosts in 1974 (Germany FR) and 1978 (Argentina), there was another 20-year break before France became the sixth and, to date, last home favourites to prevail.

The question is: will six become seven at Brazil 2014?


About the author

Rana Hadi

Rana Hadi is working with PakistanTribe.com as a web-producer. He has good command on social and current affairs.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel