Know how many Football World Cup matches decided by Penalty Kicks?



NEW YORK – Football World Cup 2014 is now 22 days away and excitement is getting hotter.

We have been giving a daily dose of some interesting facts relating to the mega events, the present one and past ones. Here is the today’s daily dose”

A total of 22 FIFA World Cup matches have been decided by a penalty shoot-out, the first in 1982 when West Germany beat France in the semi-finals and the most recent in 2010, when Uruguay edged out Ghana in the last eight.

Germany, France, Argentina and Italy have all been involved in four World Cup shoot-outs, with the Germans – renowned specialists – the only nation to have won all four.

To date, two Finals have been decided by penalties, and both have involved Italy. In 1994, Brazil won 3-2 thanks to three unconverted spot kicks by the Italians, while 12 years later Gli Azzurri triumphed 5-3 over France at Germany 2006 after finding the net with every attempt.

About the author

Rana Hadi

Rana Hadi is working with as a web-producer. He has good command on social and current affairs.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel