10 Greatest WWE Champions of ALL Time



NEW YORK – For decades the WWE Championship has been the top prize in the world of professional wrestling.

While there are many great champions in the history of the company, some of them stand out from the others. You believe or not but the greatest WWE champion not a The Rock or The Undertaker, in fact John Cena is the greatest champion of all time, at least in record books.

1. John Cena


11 time WWE champion a record and there are other superstars that be better champions the rock 8, austin 6, triple h 8, bret hart 5, hulk Hogan 6, hbk 3, kurt angle 4. Since debuting in the WWE in 2002 John Cena has held a world championship belt a total of 14 times. He’s an 11-time WWE Champion and a three-time World Heavyweight Champion. Cena has beaten just about everyone on the current roster at least once, and if he hasn’t beaten them, it’s probably because they were never in the ring together. Even when he isn’t champion he’s the wrestler everyone has to go through before they can truly be someone, or at least that’s what he says.

2. The Undertaker


The Undertaker is one of the most memorable wrestlers in WWE history his legacy stands on its own outside of his championship reigns. In fact, most of his most memorable matches had no championship gold at stake. At King of The Ring 1998 The Undertaker threw Mankind from the top of the Hell in a Cell in one of the most memorable wrestling moments of all time. And his back-to-back WrestleMania matches with Shawn Michaels are simply spectacular.

3. The Rock


The Rock is a ten-time world champion, holding the WWE championship eight times, and the World Heavyweight Championship twice. During those title reigns he feuded with the likes of Stone Cold Steve Austin, Triple H, Mankind, The Undertaker, and Brock Lesnar.

4. Triple H


Triple H is a 13-time world champion, holding the WWE Championship belt eight times, and the World Heavyweight Championship five times. That includes one of the shortest WWE Championship reigns in WWE history when he beat Randy Orton for the title at No Mercy 2007 and defended the belt against Umaga later in the show, before ultimately losing the belt that same night in a Last Man Standing match against Randy Orton. Triple H’s other title reigns were more impressive, however, and included clashes with Chris Jericho, Stone Cold Steve Austin, and The Rock.

5. CM Punk


Before he unceremoniously left the WWE CM Punk was one of the top wrestlers in the business. In his last title reign Punk held on to the WWE Championship for a total of 434 days, longer than anyone else in years. Punk held the WWE Championship twice, and the World Heavyweight Championship three times. He also held WWE’s ECW Championship once.

6. Stone Cold Steve Austin


Stone Cold Steve Austin is one of the key figures of the Attitude Era, perhaps best known for his feuds with WWE CEO Vince McMahon. Austin spent a lot of time in the main event, whether he was champion or not. Throughout his time with the company Austin won the WWE Championship a total of six times.

7. Shawn Michaels


Known as The Heart Break Kid and Mr. WrestleMania, Shawn Michaels is a four-time world champion, and the first-ever Grand Slam Champion. Michaels held the WWE Championship three times, and the World Heavyweight Championship once. He was the first wrestler in the history of the company to win the European, Intercontinental, Tag Team, and Heavyweight championships.

8. Hulk Hogan


“The Immortal” Hulk Hogan defined not just the WWE, but wrestling in the 1980’s. With 12 championship reigns, six WWE Championships and six WCW World Heavyweight Championships, Hogan is the third-longest combined reigning champion behind Bruno Sammartino and Bob Backlund.

9. Bruno Sammartino


Back when the WWE was known as the WWWF Bruno Sammartino was the wrestler to beat. He’s the longest-reigning WWE Champion, holding the belt only twice for more than 11 years, or 4040 days, to be exact.

10. Randy Orton


The son of “Cowboy” Bob Orton, Randy Orton is one of the top wrestlers in the WWE today. Orton is a 12-time champion, holding the WWE Championship eight times, and the World Heavyweight Championship four times. Orton is the youngest-ever World Heavyweight Champion, capturing the title at age 24, and, more recently, is the first-ever WWE World Heavyweight Championship.

About the author

Rana Hadi

Rana Hadi is working with PakistanTribe.com as a web-producer. He has good command on social and current affairs.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment


Subscribe PakistanTribe’s YouTube Channel